innapi.blogg.se

Windows vs mac for developers
Windows vs mac for developers














My first Mac was a 2011 MacBook Pro and it was still running like a champ in 2016. It is true that Macs are expensive but they do last. I have a 15-inch MacBook Pro (2016) and I recommend it. for my research position for two years now, using just a Mac on my end (we have 1080Ti machines I SSH into to deploy). I’ve been developing with nothing but M.L.

windows vs mac for developers

#Windows vs mac for developers full

Sure you can use Linux to get similar usability as macOS, but there’s something about how intuitively a full screen IDE of choice works that can’t be beat IMO. I don’t believe this is a possibility in Windows. macOS can natively compile Mac and Linux applications, and with Wine can also compile Windows applications. The biggest benefit to using a Mac for development is macOS. The Linux subsystem “works”, but does not support GPU usage so I find it pointless if I had ever wanted to use it. It’s industry standard really, and detailed tools for tracking program utilization of certain low-level features like system calls, stack trace changes, etc. The Unix/Linux terminal is the way to go. I’m pursuing my masters in Data Science, am a research assistant for Chattanooga’s smart infrastructure and developer in my own time. PS: What is the extent of use of Windows Subsystem for Linux? Is it being used by professionals in the industry?

windows vs mac for developers

What would be better with all these facts in mind? What are the hidden benefits for a programmer a Mac has over Windows, which might be overlooked by a long time Mac user such as me?

windows vs mac for developers

Is windows that bad even for general programming use? (which can be done in a linux dual boot or vm) learning Machine Learning (basic to medium models)Ĭonsidering that I will be training my models on the cloud, is windows really that a bad option? Consider laptops like Dell XPS 15 (i7 8750H + 16gb RAM + 1tb SSD + 1050ti GPU + 4k display + 2 yr accidental plus warranty), with great build quality, battery life, and better performance, all while costing around $2000/. I am currently deciding between MacBook Pro 15 (2.6 GHZ i7 + vega 20) and the above mentioned Dell XPS for college use (EECS at UC Berkeley) and my main use cases include:














Windows vs mac for developers